AstrOccult.net - Your Best Vedic Astrology Guide!

Authentic Resource on Indian Astrology, Numerology, Horoscope Reports, Fengshui, Lal Kitab, Free Software, Free Ebooks

Indian or Vedic Astrology

Basic Information & Learning Material for Beginners

Indian or Vedic Astrology: Basic Information & Learning Material for Beginners

Indian astrology also known as vedic astrology or Hindu astrology enjoys a wide popularity and prestige in the world. Its mathematical accuracy and predictions systems are simply marvellous. The following information in the form of tables will be of immense help to students of vedic astrology.

There are seven real planets and two shadowy planets (Rahu & Ketu) in Indian Astrology.
Their features, characteristics and other relevant details are give below:

Planets (Graha)
Planet   Owns           Sex       Aspects     Sanskrit
Name     Sign                                 / Hindi Name 
------   ----           ---       -------     ------------
Sun      Leo            Male      7           Surya
Moon     Cancer         Female    7           Chandra
Mars     Aries, Scorpio Male      4-7-8       Mangal
Mercury  Gemini, Virgo  Neutral   7           Budha
Jupiter  Sagit, Pisces  Male      5-7-9       Guru
Venus    Taur, Libra    Female    7           Shukra
Saturn   Cap, Aquarius  Neutral   3-7-10      Shani
Rahu     Aries          Female    5-7-9       Rahu
Ketu     Libra          Neutral   5-7-9       Ketu

Planets and Their Significations
Planet    Main Significator of
------    ------------------------------------------------
Sun       Soul, Self, Power, Esteem, Ambition

Moon      Emotions, Mind, Health, purity, Mental Balance, Mother

Mars      Energy, Drive, Agility, Agression, Accidents

Mercury   Intellect, Speech, Relating, Dimplomacy, Communications

Jupiter   Fortune, Law, God, Wealth, Status, Expansiveness

Venus     Desires, Pleasures, artistry, beauty, additions,Sex

Saturn    Obstacles, seriousness, truthfulness, Sorrows

Rahu      Karma, eccentricities, disturbances, foreign things

Signs (Rashis) and Their Characteristics

There are twelve sign. Their features and details are given below:
Sign       Sanskrit    Meaning       Lord      Type   Mobility  Height   Strong    Rise
English    / Hindi                                                       During    By
Aires      Mesha       Ram           Mars      Fire   Movable   Short    Night     Hind
Taurus     Vrishaba    Bull          Venus     Earth  Fixed     Short    Night     Hind
Gemini     Mithuna     Embracing     Mercury   Air    Common    Medium   Night     Head
Cancer     Karkata     Crab          Moon      Water  Movable   Medium   Night     Hind
Leo        Simha       Lion          Sun       Fire   Fixed     Tall     Day       Head
Virgo      Kanya       Teenage Girl  Mercury   Earth  Common    Tall     Day       Head
Libra      Thula       Scales        Venus     Air    Movable   Tall     Day       Head
Scorpio    Vrishchika  Scorpion      Mars      Water  Fixed     Tall     Day       Head
Sagitt     Dhanus      Bow           Jupiter   Fire   Common    Medium   Night     Hind
Capricorn  Makara      Crocodile     Saturn    Earth  Movable   Medium   Night     Hind
Aquarius   Kumbha      Jug           Saturn    Air    Fixed     Short    Day       Head
Pisces     Meena       Fish          Jupiter   Water  Common    Short    Day       Both
Signs and Their Directions
Sign         Direction - Element - Caste
                  (Each 4 types )
Aries        East  - Fire  - Kshatriya
Taurus       South - Earth - Vaishya
Gemini       West  - Air   - Shudra
Cancer       North - Water - Brahmin
Leo          East  - Fire  - Kshatriya
Virgo        South - Earth - Vaishya
Libra        West  - Air   - Shudra
Scorpio      North - Water - Brahmin
Sagittarius  East  - Fire  - Kshatriya
Capricorn    South - Earth - Vaishya
Aquarius     West  - Air   - Shudra
Pisces       North - Water - Brahmin

The Houses (Bhavas)
The houses are 12 in number and their main characteristics are given below:

House Sanskrit     Meaning       Karakas          Type of House
No.   Name                       (significator)
1     Tanu         Body          Sun              Trine & Angle
2     Dhana        Wealth        Jupiter          Maraka
3     Sahaja       Siblings      Mars             Upachaya
4     Sukha        Happiness     Moon/Merc        Angle
5     Suta         Children      Jupiter          Trine/Trinkona
6     Ripu         Enemy         Saturn/Mars      Dushtana/(Difficult)
7     Jaya         Spouse        Venus            Angle/Maraka
8     Mrityu       Death         Saturn           Dushtana/(Difficult)
9     Dharma       Religion      Sun/Jupiter      Trine/Trinkona
10    Karma        Work          Jup/Sun/Merc/Sat Angle
11    Labha        Gain          Jupiter          Upachaya
12    Vyaya        Loss          Saturn           Dushtana/(Difficult)

Body Parts & Other Main Rulerships Of Houses
House   House  Body Parts & Other Rulerships of Houses
No.     Name
1  Tanu       Head, body , Overall Results, Health, Childhood, Self
2  Dhana      Face, mouth, Family,  Wealth, Speech, Food
3  Sahaja     Breasts, ears, arms   Courage, Discomforts, Loss of
              Property / Parents
4  Sukha      Heart, chest, Happiness, Home, Mother, Large Property
5  Suta       Belly, womb, intelligence, Creativity, Children,
              Entertainment, Deity
6  Ripu       Lower abdomen  Debts, Diseases, Enemies, Service, loss of
7  Jaya       Lap area, spouse, Partners, Contracts, trade
8  Mrityu     Genitals, anus, Death, Disasters, Sex, Loss of Fortunes,
9  Dharma     Thighs, hips  Religion, God, Guru, Fortune, Father, Law,
              Faith, Protection
10 Karma      Knees, back  Career, Prestige, Rise, Success, Government,
              Material Success
11 Labha      Legs, Gains, Desires, Friends, Older Siblings, Selfishness
12 Vyaya      Feet, Donations, Liberation, Losses, Old Age, Private
              Pleasures, Temples
(To be updated with more learning material)  

Copyright astroccult.net  2020  All rights reserved.